May 26, 2011

Fielding yogurt QA and tractors

Posted in Food at 8:48 pm by Mel

Have I mentioned that my son is obsessed with tractors?  He is.  Dave went to pick him up today and as soon as he walked into the sitter’s house he heard Ajax talking about tractors and the sitter responding, oh yes, like papa’s tractor?  He is constantly telling us how this tractor and that tractor looks like the one his grandpa/papa has.   He then came home with a color picture of a tractor which appeared to be cut out of a magazine.  I got the impression he walked around with it all day and told everyone about how it was like his papa’s (as it was a green John Deere; while grandpa has a blue New Holland).

Onto yogurt.  My mother-in-law texted a question about the yogurt process and I just thought I’d share some of the resources I found about the process.  In short, making yogurt involves heating milk up, cooling it off, dumping in some active culture, and then letting it sit in a warm place undisturbed to let the bacteria multiple.  Kind of gross when you spell it out, but there it is. lol.

Here are my favorites-

  1. Kitchen Stewardship.  This is a great site which discuss the excellent health benefits of yogurt and has great step-by-step instructions on making your own.
  2. Kinda Crunchy Kate.   This site has a wonderful picture tutorial on the process which I found very helpful.  I also found the comments insightful as well.
  3. Mr. Yogurt.   This site makes yogurt it’s business and is filled with technical information that will eventually help me refine the process (when/if I ever decided to go that far).

Now, I followed the second website (Crunchy Kate’s) method with a heating pad and it worked fine.   I ended up printing out instructions, highlighting and then re-reading them all.   I liked Mr. Yogurt because he gave precise temperatures for each step.  I appreciate precision and details.   I don’t have any comments to add as I’m still a newbie to this.  The only thing I can recommend is to buy a quality candy thermometer and don’t let you husband put your cheap glass candy thermometer into the dishwasher.

2 Comments »

  1. Glad the yogurt worked out! And your little boy is adorable. My son is also obsessed with tractors and anything with wheels on it that moves. 🙂

    • Mel said,

      Thank you Kate! I greatly enjoy your site.


Leave a comment